NARBA Distinguished Service Award

People make a difference. Each year since 2010 the North American Raspberry & Blackberry Association has given this award, recognizing a grower, researcher, extension worker, or supplier to the industry for their leadership and service to NARBA and the raspberry and blackberry industry. The recipients of this award are:

2022: Debby Wechsler, North American Raspberry & Blackberry (retired), Executive Secretary

2021: Eric Hanson, Michigan State University Dept. of Horticulture (retired), extension

2020: Chad Finn, USDA-ARS, Corvallis, OR, berry breeding. Chad Finn passed away in December 2019. The award was made posthumously.

2019: Gina Fernandez, Department of Horticulture, NC State University, breeding/research/extension

2018: Bernadine Strik, Oregon State University, research/extension, and Fred Finney, Moreland Fruit Farm, Wooster, OH, retired grower and past NARBA president

2017: Fred Koenigshof, K&K Farm, Coloma, MI, grower  (presented in December 2016)

2016: Charlie O’Dell, Blackburg, VA, former Extension specialist and retired grower (Crows Nest Farm)

2015: Dean and Judy Henry, Berry Patch Farm, Nevada, Iowa, growers

2014: Nate and Tim Nourse, Nourse Farms, South Deerfield, MA, growers/nursery

2013: Mark Bolda, University of California Cooperative Extension, Santa Cruz, extension

2012: John R. Clark, Department of Horticulture, University of Arkansas, blackberry breeding

2011: Marvin Pritts, Department of Horticulture, Cornell University, research/extension

2010: Ervin Lineberger, Kildeer Farm, Kings Mountain, NC, grower

If you are interested in nominating a deserving individual or company for this award, contact NARBA or any member of its Executive Council.