NARBA Distinguished Service Award

People make a difference

The North American Raspberry and Blackberry Association presents an annual award to recognize members of the raspberry and blackberry industry for their dedication, leadership and service. Since 2010 NARBA has awarded this honor to individuals who have shown excellence in the industry including growers, researchers, extension workers, and suppliers. Below is a list of past recipients.

NARBA about distinguished service award 2019 dr gina fernandez
2019 Distinguished Service Award winner, Dr. Gina Fernandez, presented by past NARBA President, Pierson Geyer.

Award Recipients:

2024  |  Patrick Byers, University of Missouri Extension, Horticulture Field Specialist

2023  |  Dr. Fumiomi Takeda, USDA ARS Appalachian Fruit Research Station (retired), Research Horticulturist and lead scientist

2022  |  Debby Wechsler, North American Raspberry & Blackberry Association (retired), Executive Secretary

2021  |  Dr. Eric Hanson, Michigan State University Dept. of Horticulture (retired), Professor Emeritus

2020  |  Dr. Chad Finn, USDA-ARS, Corvallis, OR,Research Geneticist & Small Fruit Breeder. Awarded posthumously.

2019  |  Dr. Gina Fernandez, Department of Horticulture, NC State University, John D. and Nell R. Leazar Distinguished Professor, Graduate Programs Director, Extension Specialist

2018  |  Dr. Bernadine Strik, Oregon State University, Horticulturist, horticultural researcher, and professor of horticulture

2018  |  Fred Finney, Moreland Fruit Farm, Wooster, OH, retired grower and past NARBA president

2017  |  Fred Koenigshof, K&K Farm, Coloma, MI, grower

2016  |  Charlie O’Dell, Blacksburg, VA, former Extension specialist and retired grower (Crows Nest Farm)

2015  |  Dean and Judy Henry, Berry Patch Farm, Nevada, Iowa, growers

2014  |  Nate and Tim Nourse, Nourse Farms, South Deerfield, MA, growers/nursery

2013  |  Mark Bolda, University of California Cooperative Extension, Santa Cruz, extension

2012  |  Dr. John R. Clark, Department of Horticulture, University of Arkansas, Distinguished Professor of Horticulture, extension, blackberry breeding

2011  |  Dr. Marvin Pritts, Department of Horticulture, Cornell University, Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Plant Sciences Major, School of Integrative Plant Science Horticulture Section
Professor, Department of Global Development

2010  |  Ervin Lineberger, Kildeer Farm, Kings Mountain, NC, grower