Research Foundation

Key Links

About the North American Bramble Growers Research Foundation

The North American Bramble Growers Research Foundation (NABG-RF) is a tax-exempt, charitable 501(c)(3) organization adjunct to the North American Raspberry & Blackberry Association (formerly North American Bramble Growers Association, or NABGA). It was chartered in August, 1998 to facilitate NABGA’s ability to receive donations and make grants to fund bramble research. As of 2023, the Foundation has granted a total of $332,879 to 118 projects at universities in the U.S. and Canada and USDA research centers.

Funds for NABG-RF come from several sources, including NARBA membership dues, donations, and fundraising events. A quarter (25%) of each grower membership goes directly to the Research Foundation, In September, 2007, the Foundation initiated a Nursery Contribution Program, encouraging blackberry/raspberry nurseries to contribute $.01 per plant sold to the Foundation. All donations to the Research Foundation qualify as charitable contributions. 

The Foundation is closely linked with the North American Raspberry & Blackberry Association, but is a separate organization. New Foundation bylaws adopted in March, 2015 established the Executive Council of NARBA as the Board of Trustees of the Foundation as well, though separation between their meetings and accounts is clearly delineated.  The bylaws also defined the role and membership of the Foundation’s Research Committee and made other improvements that brought the Foundation more in line with accepted non-profit practices.

The Research Committee evaluates proposals and makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees for funding. Each year that funds are available for grants a Call for Proposals is developed in the fall and emailed to interested researchers and posted on NARBA’s website. Funding priorities for the year are decided by the NARBA Executive consultation with the NABGRF Research Committee and other leaders in the industry.  The process is coordinated by the coordinator of the Research Committee, Patrick Byers.

Funding decisions are made in January or February of the following year, generally at the time of the NARBA annual meeting. Proposals for 2023 funding are due January 13, 2023.

If you are interested in making a donation to the Foundation or receiving the next Call for Proposals, contact NABGRF.

Board of Trustees of the NABG Research Foundation (2022)

  • Courtney Weber, Cornell University, Geneva, NY (President)
  • Tom O’Brien, O’Brien Family Farms, Coats, NC  (Vice President)
  • Darcy Kochis, NARBA, Portland, OR (Secretary-Treasurer)  
  • Karen Blaedow, NC Cooperative Extension, Hendersonville, NC
  • Ben Butler, Butler’s Orchard, Germantown, MD
  • Rigoberto Guerrero, Hortifrut, Zapopan, Mexico
  • Jim Jedele, Berry Hill Farm, MI
  • Ken Hopps, Sun Belle, Schiller Park, IL
  • Amanda McWhirt, University of Arkansas, AR
  • David Mutz, Berryhaven Farm, Abbotsford, BC
  • Darren Sinn, Oregon Raspberry & Blackberry Commission, OR  

Research Committee (dates of term)

  • Patrick Byers (Co-Chair) University of Missouri Extension, Springfield, MO
  • Miguel Ahumada, Berry World, Ojai, CA (2018-2021)
  • Fred Koenigshof, K&K Farms, Coloma, MI (2017-2020)
  • Laura McDermott, Cornell University Extension, Hudson Falls, NY (2019-2022)
  • Amanda McWhirt, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR (2018-2021)
  • Jeremy Pattison, Driscolls, Watsonville, CA (2019-2022)
  • Jose Saca, Wish Farms, Plant City, FL (2017-2020)
  • Fumi Takeda, USDA-ARS, Kearneysville, WV (2018-2021)
  • Hillary Thomas, Naturipe Farms, Salinas, CA (2017-2020)
  • Christopher Winterbottom, Andrew & Williamson Fresh Produce, Hollister, CA (2019-2022)