NARBA Officers and Board of Directors

NARBA’s Board of Directors is called the “Executive Council”, and is made up of 8 Regional Representatives, 2 At-large Representatives, and the officers (who may or may not also be Regional Representatives). Executive Council members serve three-year terms and are elected by the membership. NARBA revised the makeup of its regions in December, 2016. A new region for Mexico, Central & South America was added in February, 2018. The current regions and their representatives are as below.


President – Pierson GeyerAgriBerry Farm & CSA, Hanover, VA 

Vice PresidentScott Norman, Naturipe Farms, Salinas, CA

Treasurer – Chris Eckert, Eckert Orchards, Belleville, IL

Executive Secretary – Debby WechslerPittsboro, NC 

Regional Representatives

Region 1: (Canada and Europe) 
David Mutz, Heeman Strawberry Farm, Thorndale, ON  Canada

Region 2 (CT, NH, NY, MA, ME, RI, VT)  
Courtney Weber, Cornell University, Geneva, NY

Region 3  (DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA, VA, WV)
Ben Butler, Butler’s Orchard, Germantown, MD

Region 4 (IN, KY, MI, OH, WI)
Jim Jedele, Berry Hill Farm, Dexter, MI

Region 5 (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN)
Tom O’Brien, O’Brien Family Farms, Coats, NC

Region 6 (AR, IA, IL, KS, MO, MN, ND, NE, OK)
Chris Eckert, Eckert Orchards, Belleville, IL  

Region 7 (AK, AZ, CA, CO, ID, HA, MT, NM, OR, TX, UT, WA, WY)  
Julie SchedeenSchedeen’s Farm,  Boring OR 

Region 8 (Mexico and Central & South America)
Rigoberto Guerrero, Hortifrut, Zapopan, Mexico

At-Large Representatives

Richard Barnes, Tanglewood Berry Farm/Trellis Growing Systems, Fort Wayne, IN

Scott Norman, Naturipe Farms, Salinas, CA


North American Bramble Growers Research Foundation (NABGRF)

The NARBA Executive Committee also serves as the Board of Trustees for the NABG Research Foundation.

President: Julie Schedeen

Vice President: Richard Barnes

Secretary-Treasurer: Debby Wechsler

Research Committee Co-Coordinators: Patrick Byers, University of Missouri, Springfield, MO,  and Jeff Chandler, Mt. Hort. Crops Research & Extension Center, Fletcher, NC


NARBA Office: 197 Spring Creek Road, Pittsboro, NC 27312. Phone: 919-542-4037. Fax: 866-511-6660

Menu Title